Twitter thoughts from a 4 year old

Some days ago I woke up to the following Tweet:

Four years on Twitter… What have I been up to?

Although it is a couple of years ago, I still remember when I first heard about Twitter and that it caused me to go straight home and signing up.

I had attended a seminar by Norwegian Marketing Association , and one of the speakers, Øyvind Solstad ( at that time working for NRK -Norwegian Broadcasting, and one of the first Norwegians signing up for Twitter) asked the audience: “How many of you are on Twitter?” The answer was close to none, most of us had not even heard about the microblogging service, but my curiosity was awaken and after the seminar I decided to give it a go, so I sign up and posted my first tweet. According to MyFirstTweet.Com it was:

Very well, I signed up and posted my first tweet – what happened next?
Not much. At first. Most of the time I just observed others, followed their advice, read their links and admittedly, spent a lot of the time “stalking” my favourite celebrities (especially the cast from The Hills).

My own Tweets was very limited, as this graph from TweetStats.Com clearly shows:

I was clearly not enjoying the full potential of Twitter. I now know there is more to it, so if I could go back to the early Twitter version of me and give some advice it would be:

Just do it!
2011 was the year I fully re-discovered Twitter and started sharing my own thoughts and engaging with others. While I earlier tended to over-think every tweet (‘Can I say this?’ ‘What if people disagree?’ ‘This is stupid’) and mostly ended up not writing anything at all, I had now adapted a “just do it” attitude to Twitter – and it helped my get passed my self-censorship (might have caused some spamming though – sorry about that!) and start creating my own content. And that’s when the fun began!

Engage with others!
Twitter is packed with inspiring people – old friends, people you look up to and experts of every kind. Twitter is probably the closest I’ll get to famous authors, celebrities and influential people like Norway’s prime minister. It would be a pity to not make the most if it – so ask questions, mention, retweet and hand-out #FF’s!

Update your info!
I cannot remember if the bio field existed when I signed up, but I do remember it took me a long time to come up with something to say (self-censorship hitting again). Now I know it is as crucial as the profile picture – I want to get a sense of who I’m following and don’t follow people without a picture and a bio. A funny or interesting bio can also make me hit the following button on people I just stumble upon or don’t have much in common with.

What did your first Tweet say? And what is your best Twitter advice?

Have your say - comments are much appreciated :)

